Mississippi Junior/Community College Band Association

Band Assoc Home | Members | Officers | All State Band | Constitution | Minutes | Links |

MJCCBA

February 17, 2001 University of Mississippi Submitted by Todd E. Hill, Secretary Northwest Mississippi Community College

The meeting was called to order by President David Dueitt. Members present included Shaw Furlow and Sammy Stewart of Copiah Lincoln Community College; Vice President Tom Carson and Jared Brownlee of East Central Community College; Bobbie Gibson of East Mississippi Community College; Tracy Irby and Randy Mapes of Hinds Community College; Gary Sheppeard and Larry Bradford of Holmes Community College; Sammy Barr, Jeff Brown and Meri Maloy of Jones County Junior College; Maurice Kelly of Mississippi Delta Community College; President David Dueitt, Cliff Taylor and Kenny Myrick of Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College; Ricky Bishop, Past President Naz Rhodes and Amanda Murphy of Northeast Mississippi Community College; John Ungurait and Secretary Todd Hill of Northwest Mississippi Community College; Archie Rawls and Dr. Kyle Hill of Pearl River Community College and Clay Whittington of Southwest Mississippi Community College.

OLD BUSINESS

ALL STATE CLINIC

Members were asked to bring new audition pieces (according to their specialty areas) to the fall meeting to create a new set of audition material for the AII-State Clinic Band. Members were told to also keep in mind that the pieces should be contrasting in nature -one technical selection and one melodic selection.

The 2002 Clinic will be held at Mississippi State University. Dates will be January 24 through 26, 2001. Incoming Vice-President Todd Hill will be in charge of hotel reservations.

Potential clinician nominees included Arnauld Gabriel, Mark Camphouse and Bill Clark. (Mark Camphouse was selected and engaged.)

Music for next year's clinic may be purchased through the association and listed as an expense. Incoming President Tom Carson will contact Dr. Bradberry concerning this possibility.

NEW BUSINESS:

ALLSTATE CLINIC/AUDITIONS

President Duiett took full responsibility, by wishing to be inclusive of all institutions within the system, of having appointed a student from a school that did not have any students to audition to the AII-State Clinic Band for the 2001 clinic. Ricky Bishop asked for a point of clarification that the association would not accept any student for the AII-State Clinic Band that had not auditioned for said ensemble. Add- ons (for institutional representation) would be listed at the bottom of the section. Dr. Kyle Hill moved that an add-on would remain at the bottom of said section and that any openings that occurred would involve moving the alternate into the section ahead of the add-on. The motion was unanimously accepted.

BY-LAWS

Dr. Kyle Hill suggested that a committee be appointed to find and examine the Association's By-laws. Sammy Barr suggested that Dr. Hill chair such a committee and to find out whatever information he could pertaining to the whereabouts of the original constitution and by-laws of the organization.

FALL SEMINAR

Archie Rawls suggested calling the Fall Meeting the Fall Band Directors Seminar and including a keynote speaker and that we charge a seminar fee that would include lunch. Incoming President Carson will speak with Mr. Rawls about details and possibilities. The Fall Seminar will be held on the campus of Hinds Community College on Friday September 7, 2001. Incoming President Carson will work out details with Tracy Irby of Hinds for lunch on that date.

ELECTION OF NEW SECRET ARY

Ricky Bishop moved that Sammy Barr become the new secretary . Amanda Murphy seconded the motion and Shaw Furlow moved for acclamation. Motion passed.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Gary Sheppeard announced that Larry Bradford had been named as Delta State Music Department Alumnus of the Year.

John Ungurait announced that Todd Hill had an article on teaching jazz bands published in the January issue of The Instrumentalist magazine.

Bobbie Gibson announced her retirement and was thanked by members of the association for her years of service to the organization.

New president Tom Carson thanked David Dueitt for all his work in his term as President.

Naz Rhodes moved for adjournment. The motion was seconded by Shaw Furlow and accepted.

Page Creation, <u>Jeff Brown</u>, Sept 14, 2002